OSU Logo

Departmental Committees

Graduate Student Participation

There normally will be one graduate student member on the Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Studies Committee. A nomination(s) for each committee may be requested from the GSA, or a specific student may be requested by the chairperson to serve on a committee. Students will continue to be involved, as they have been in the past, in promotion and tenure matters, although a graduate student representative will not serve on the tenure committee. A graduate student representative, usually the GSA vice-president, is expected to attend departmental meetings, as a non-voting representative.

Functions of Standing Committees

Described below are the salient responsibilities and prerogatives of the standing committees in the Department of Botany and Plant Pathology. By the very nature of administrative organization of the University, the committees function in an advisory capacity, except when authority for decision-making is delegated by the department chairperson. Members and committee chairpersons are currently appointed for a one-year term.

Curriculum Committee. The Curriculum Committee is composed of approximately eight to nine members, one of whom is designated as chairperson. Appointments are made by the department chairperson. One or two members are senior graduate students. The several responsibilities of this committee include but are not necessarily restricted to:
(1) detailed study and submission of recommendations to the department chairperson about all matters concerning the courses offered by the department and the curricular organization of those courses whether exclusively administered by the Department of Botany and Plant Pathology or jointly by two or more departments of the University; (2) making effective recommendations to the department chairperson regarding scheduling courses; and (3) representation by the committee chairperson to the College of Science Curriculum Committee. Matters are brought to the attention of the committee by initiative of the committee itself, the department chairperson, or any member of the faculty. One person charged with responsibility for schedule and catalog copy regularly serves as ex officio member.

Graduate Studies Committee. The several responsibilities of the Graduate Studies Committee include: (1) evaluation of all applications for admission to graduate programs in the department, and communication of the department's decisions to the Dean of the Graduate School; (2) taking full responsibility for correspondence with applicants and with institutions and departments where prospective applicants may be located; (3) advising the department chairperson on the selection of students to whom Graduate Teaching Assistantships, Graduate Research Assistantships, and other forms of financial aid at the department's disposal should be offered; (4) making recommendations to the department chairperson regarding matters concerning departmental policies and decisions affecting graduate students individually and collectively; (5) providing information to the faculty and graduate students concerning opportunities for Federal fellowships and other forms of financial aid; (6) ensuring that a written report on the status of each student in the graduate program and performance as a GTA or GRA, if applicable, is made once annually; and (7) serving as a hearing panel on personal grievances and requests for special counsel brought to its attention by any graduate student or member of a graduate student program committee, and making effective recommendations to the department chairperson regarding settlement of such grievances and requests. This committee normally is composed of six to eight persons, one of whom is a graduate student. The chairperson is designated by the department chairperson.

Promotion and Tenure Executive Committee: Five tenured full professors of the regular faculty comprise the Promotion and Tenure Executive Committee. The members serve three-year terms and are elected by the voting professorial faculty. The function of this committee is to organize the activities of the full Promotion and Tenure Committee that consists of all tenured professors in the department. The activities of the P&T Committee include making recommendations to the department chairperson, annually, regarding promotion of department faculty members in academic rank and advancement to tenure status, evaluating teaching of professors and mentoring assistant and associate professors. Dossiers forwarded to the appropriate deans include the independent recommendation of the department chairperson and the recommendations of this committee. The Department Chairperson appoints a Student Committee that assists the P&T Committee by providing an independent evaluation of the teaching efforts of professors under consideration for promotion.

Infrastructure Committee: A committee of six members each representing one of the following focus areas; farm, space, facilities and equipment, greenhouse, computers.

Departmental Executive Committee: The chairs of each of the four preceding committees along with the Associate Chair will form this committee. The role of the Departmental Executive Committee is to advise the Chair a variety of issues, raise additional issues and to keep each other informed of ongoing committee business.

Roth Forest Committee: Responsible for the oversight of the management of the Lew and Evelyn Roth Forest (donated in 1994 to the BPP Department to benefit its educational programs). Will normally have three or more professorial members. Additional members may include one or more students. Management decisions must be compatible with the terms of the gift.