Bill and LaRea Johnston Fund for Undergraduate Education

The Endowment

The Larea D. Johnston Endowment was established in 1990 to honor the numerous teaching contributions made to the department by LaRea Johnston. The income from the fund supports undergraduate education in the department and is used either to directly support undergraduate students, their research efforts, or to support teaching efforts on behalf of these students. In 1992, the fund was renamed the Bill and LaRea Johnston Fund for Undergraduate Education in memory of Bill who was an integral part of the department.

The Outstanding Senior Award is made possible by this endowment, and is awarded using the following guidelines:

  1. High academic achievement with Grade Point Average of 3.50-4.00
  2. Completion of 45-60 hours of courses as a major in Botany & Plant Pathology
  3. Outstanding role model

with either

  • Botany & Plant Pathology related activities (significant contributions to the Undergraduate Botany Club or other departmental activities)


  • Other campus, community or professional activities (significant contributions to clubs or activities outside the department)

and (preferred but not required)

  • Quality performance on an independent study project

Outstanding Seniors have included:

  • Stephanie Vandruff (2010)
  • Emma Bradford and Alicia Leytem (2006)
  • Kathy van Wormer (2005)
  • Bailey Edgley (2004)
  • John Schenk (2003) Special Senior Recognition Award
  • Jonathan Reed (2003)
  • Jay Well (2002)
  • Jenna Malarkey Hill and Kristen Skinner (2000)
  • Aleta Groenig (1999)
  • Anne Bangs (1998)
  • Camille Tipton (1997)